March 8, 2016

Saint Joseph at the heart of traditions in the Good Shepherd of Quebec

Every year, from March 10th to 19th, a novena to Saint Joseph is held in all houses of the Congregation. How did that tradition begin?

In 1850, the Foundress of the Good Shepherd ministry, Marie-Josephte Fitzbach who was devoted to the popular spirituality of her day, invoked Saint Joseph in all her material difficulties. That devotion spread rapidly to the entire Congregation, and the saint was called on frequently for protection, when resources were scarce, or to obtain the grace of a peaceful death. A novena was made once in a while and his feastday was celebrated on March 19th, but until 1904, he was not the object of a specific tradition in the Good Shepherd of Quebec.

In the Fall of 1904, a violent explosion occurred at the St. Joseph Laundry Facility, following a failed x-ray experiment made by Sister Marie-de-l’Immaculée-Conception with the help of Mr. Louis Saillant, an engineer at the Mother House. Thanks to his presence of mind and urgent invocation to Saint Joseph, everyone’s life was saved and there was no damage.

Filled with gratitude, Mr. Saillant resolved to make Saint Joseph the official protector of the house. He went to buy a statue of the saint and built a niche for it in the busiest part of the basement. The following March 10th, a Great Novena was begun at the very spot of the explosion. The novena ended on March 19th with a celebration of the feast of Saint Joseph.

With the years, the Great Novena became a tradition in the Good Shepherd of Quebec. And so, each year, Saint Joseph receives the hymns and prayers of the personnel in all the houses of the Congregation.

> See archives

© Soeurs du Bon-Pasteur de Québec, tous droits réservés / all rights reserved
Updated September 17, 2018.

8 mars 2016

Saint Joseph au cœur de la tradition du Bon-Pasteur de Québec

À chaque année, du 10 au 19 mars, une neuvaine est consacrée à saint Joseph dans toutes les maisons de la Congrégation. D’où vient donc cette tradition ?

Dès 1850, la fondatrice de l’Œuvre du Bon-Pasteur, Marie-Josephte Fitzbach, forte de la spiritualité populaire de l’époque, avait recours à saint Joseph pour toutes ses difficultés d’ordre matériel. Cette dévotion s’étendit rapidement à toute la Congrégation et on fit appel à l’intervention du saint à maintes occasions, que ce soit comme source de protection, pour pourvoir au manque de ressources ou encore pour être gratifié d’une mort douce. On lui consacrait une neuvaine de temps à autre et on célébrait sa fête le 19 mars, mais jusqu’en 1904, il ne faisait l’objet d’aucune tradition particulière au Bon-Pasteur de Québec.

À l’automne 1904, une violente explosion se produisit à la buanderie St-Joseph à la suite d’une expérience ratée de rayons X tentée par Sr Marie-de-l’Immaculée-Conception aidée de M. Louis Saillant, ingénieur à la Maison-Mère. Grâce à la présence d’esprit de ce dernier et à sa véhémente invocation à saint Joseph, tous eurent la vie sauve et les lieux ne subirent aucun dommage.

Reconnaissant, M. Saillant résolut de confier la protection de la maison à saint Joseph. Il se procura une statue du saint qu’il plaça pieusement dans la cave de la maison. Dès le 10 mars suivant, on organisa la Grande Neuvaine sur les lieux même de l’explosion. La neuvaine se termina le 19 mars par la célébration de la fête de saint Joseph.

Au fil des ans, la Grande Neuvaine est devenue une tradition au Bon-Pasteur de Québec. Ainsi, à chaque année saint Joseph se voit consacrer en mars chants et prières dans toutes les maisons de la Congrégation.

> Voir les archives

© Soeurs du Bon-Pasteur de Québec, tous droits réservés / all rights reserved
Dernière mise à jour le 2 octobre 2017.